The Ovation Rules Committee (ORC) is a group of Greater Los Angeles theatre professionals who oversee the Ovation Awards process and systems. Together, they solicit and analyze feedback from stakeholders in the Ovation Awards; evaluate and recommend changes to rules and regulations each season; select the pool of Ovation voters each spring; and make immediate decisions throughout the year regarding rule interpretation and other eligibility questions.

The ORC is an advisory body. Any rule changes or recommendations made by the Committee must be ratified by the LA STAGE Alliance Board of Governors.


The ORC holds required monthly meetings and demands five to fifteen hours of additional off-site Committee work — not including consistent availability by email for electronic discussion. Committee members are required to attend to the Ovation Awards events each year: the Nominee Announcement, Nominee Reception, and Awards Ceremony.

ORC members may serve up to seven years (one 1-year term, followed by two 3-year terms).


Periodically, seats will open up on the Ovation Rules Committee. New members are chosen through an application and interview process. Recommendations for Committee members are solicited from LA STAGE organizational members, current Ovation Rules Committee members, the Board of Governors, LA STAGE staff, Ovation voters, Ovation nominees/winners, and other stakeholders in the community.

If you are interested in joining the ORC applications are now open through Monday, August 12th at 5 PM.

A complete ORC application includes the submission of:

  • The online application form¬†
  • Artist/Arts administrator Resume(s)
  • Two Letters of recommendation that speak to your body of work and/or why you would make a great ORC member.


You can view more detailed information on Ovation Rules Committee responsibilities.

The online form must be completed in a single setting (you cannot save responses and return to it later). Use this template to prepare your responses ahead of time.

You can either attach the letters/resume in the online form, or they can be emailed to ovations@lastagealliance.com. PDF’s are highly preferred.

The person who is writing the recommendation may also email it to us directly on your behalf.


Elina de Santos. Director, Co-Artistic Director, Rogue Machine Theatre.

Donna Simone Johnson. Actress.

Tracey Leigh. Actress/Director.

Jer Adrianne Lelliott. Artistic Director, Coeurage Theatre Company.

Cricket Myers. Sound Designer.

Phyllis Schuringa. Artistic Associate/Casting Director, Geffen Playhouse.

Eric Sims. Operations Manager, Kirk Douglas Theatre, Center Theatre Group.

Peter James Smith. Actor.

Casey Stangl. Director.

Lewis Wilkenfeld. Producer/Director.

Mark McClain Wilson. Actor/Director/Sound Designer/Writer.

Marco Gomez. Interim Executive Director, LASA/Executive Producer, DOMA Theatre Co.(non-voting)

Full ORC Committee Bios