2014 Sherwood Award Winner Miranda Wright at the Ovation Awards
2014 Sherwood Award Winner Miranda Wright at the Ovation Awards

Application for the 2015 Award is now available here. Application Deadline: June 30, 2014 July 7, 2014

Center Theatre Group’s annual Richard E. Sherwood Award for emerging theatre artists is a $10,000 fund designed to nurture innovative, adventurous Los Angeles theatre artists of promise associated with performance in LA. The Award’s goal is to cultivate these artists and invite them to engage in a professional relationship with Center Theatre Group. Applicants must be dedicated to improving the future of their respective artistic fields, demonstrate leadership qualities, and push existing boundaries. Artists are not limited by title, role or genre, but they must have a relationship to the art of performance.

Originally created in 1996, the Sherwood Award was established in memory of Richard E. Sherwood. Sherwood was a patron of the arts with a special appreciation for the energy and talent of emerging artists. He was president of LACMA and president and then chairman of the Center Theatre Group Board of Directors from 1980 until his passing in 1993. The award is an endowed fund at CTG by the Sherwood family and honors Sherwood’s passionate commitment to theatre.

The Sherwood Award is presented each year at the Ovation Awards ceremony. Three Finalists are notified prior to the ceremony in early October. All three Finalists are then celebrated in the month leading up to the Award Announcement, allowing them more involvement with Center Theatre Group and their initiatives. An honorarium of $2500 is awarded to the two remaining finalists. Please note that artists can only be eligible for the Finalist Honorarium for two consecutive years, after which they must wait one calendar year before reapplying.

For the full information regarding the Sherwood Award application process, visit CTG’s website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *